LIEBSTER AWARD

liebster2

I got a comment from the lovely Angela Leese from one life, recorded letting me know she had nominated me for the Liebster Award. My first reaction was, what?! Then I thought she had made some mistake, I only just stared the blog, then I thought please let this not be a mistake, and low and behold, it wasn’t. Yippee!

So if you’re not sure what the Leister award is, and neither was I, I found its basically a recognition award for bloggers by bloggers and it has its own set of rules, of course. One the first things I did after receiving this award invitation was to seek more information from the oh so knowing google. And I found quite a bit.

First off, this award is a virtual award given to bloggers by other bloggers, as I mentioned, but not just any blog is qualified to receive this, just the blogs that have few subscribers. During my search I discovered that the Liebster Award rules had evolved a number of times from what it used to be. Originally blogs had to have fewer the 1000 subscribers to qualify, now however, it seems 200 is the limit. According to a couple of sources, the award was created by a German blogger in 2010, its primary purpose’s to discover and promote bloggers with fewer than 200 followers, and connect them to one another.

The official rules are as follows:

1. Thank the blogger that nominates you ( Thank you, Angela )

2. List 11 Random facts about yourself

3. Answer the 11 questions from your nominator

4. You are required to nominate 5 to 11 blogs, and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.

5. Ask them 11 questions

6. Post a picture of the award on your blog.
(For more information, wording well writes extensively about the Liesbter Awards.)
I’ll start by thanking Angela Leese from one life, recorded for this honour. Like most writers, I’m assuming, I am more often than not trepidatious about putting anything of myself out the in the bloggersphere, dangling there for the scrutiny of anyone and everyone. So getting any kind of commendation feels truly humbling and elating. To think that at least one person truly enjoyed reading my writing enough to say, ‘hey, I think she should get this nomination’, is very confidence bosting indeed. And I never win anything, so this is a huge moment for me. I can’t thank you enough, Angela.
So, here we go;
11 Random Facts about me:
  • I don’t currently own a phone (by choice)
  • I love the rain especially on a sunday morning, when it’s falling on a window. (sigh)
  • I wear a UK size 9 in shoes, I know MASSIVE. That’s a 12 in US
  • I detest discrimination of any kind, I mean I can go on forever about it.
  • I collect perfumes.
  • I love clean. I have to have a clean environment to be happy and creative
  • My room is messy at times (hence why I’m not as creative as i could be)
  • I love candles. And when they’re scented, I’m in HEAVEN!
  • I love outdoor activities, like rock climbing, cycling etc. I don’t do them often but when I do, hippie!
  • I collect vinyl records. I know I’m a 55 year old, in a 25 year old body. That’s a thought.
  • I love jazz music. I am currently listening to Joni Mitchell’s Both Sides Now, as I’m writing this.

11 Questions from Angela:

Q: Is your day job creative or are you only creative outside of your job? Or do you not see yourself as creative at all?

A: I like to think I am a creative person. I am currently pursuing an incredibly creative career, which can be very intimidating, but it helps that I am a creative thinker in general.

Q: What advice do you have for people to be more creative in their everyday lives?

A: I must preface my answer by saying that I don’t personally think that everyone is meant to be creative, we have to have a balance in what we offer the world as a whole, and a creative trait, though viewed positively, is not the only industrious trait to have. I think people should work to develop whatever comes naturally to them. However, if someone where to consciously peruse ways to be more creative, I’ll say read more books. Its incredible how innovative the imagination is, the way we see every story we read is unique to the individual reader. Creativity beings in the mind, and the most fundamental exercise in opening up the creative mind is imagination.

Q: How would you define art versus craft or are they the same thing?

A:  No I do not think they are the same thing. Art is a subjective field, of production, expression, or quality that is perceived to be athletically pleasing or of some significance and evokes emotion from its recipient. While, craft is a trade or occupation that requires an ability or/and skill. Art can be the product of craft, but not always, and while you may be able to create art, it is not always your craft.

Q: If you could have any creative talent, what would you choose?

A: If I could have any talant whatsoever, I would love to be able to play a musical instrument. The guitar or piano or the cello.

Q: Who or what inspires you in your creativity?

A: Other bloggers are a huge inspiration, certain authors of books I love like Kathleen TessaroPaullina Simons are massive inspiration. Film directors too in fact, some films just blow me away, and I wonder wow what was that person thinking when they were making that? Or how did that come about or evolve? And my mind fly aways with me. Other massive inspirations are music and pictures. And I love smells, nice smells of course puts me in a mood.

Q: What artist / writer / songwriter do you love but no one seems to know about?

A: A song writer I recently discovered is Daniela Andrade, she an incredibly talented candian singer/songwriter. An author that I just Love is Melanie Harlow. She is the author of the beautiful book Frenched.

Q: When was the last time you drew something?

A: Almost a year ago. I really want to pick it up again soon.

Q: Do you sing in the shower? To family, friends, or the dog? In public?

A: Yes. I sing in the shower. I sing to my mom, thats about as far as my confidence goes I’m afraid. I used to sing in a choir but that was when I was a teenager. I am planning a karaoke outing with friends, so I think that statistic might be changing soon after a little libration, I’m not sure how happy the clubs patron will be about that though.

Q: What would you name your band if you started one today?

A: Hmm… probably something cliche like, Blue Rain or The Cottage something like that. Good question.

Q: Expanding on that last question…what would be the title and topic of your first big hit?

A: Dancing in the Rain. Can you tell I love the rain? Or footsteps. It’ll be about growth and connecting, about how being different is beautiful and everything we do touches everyone somewhere, something like that.

Blogs I nominate:

Voices In Our Heads

Psychocinderella

Shraddha Uchil

Kasatkinlouis

The biblio life

Zenocrat

Lichtern

Ray Fitness

My 11 Questions:

Who or What inspired you to start blogging?

What is the first thing you think of when you wake up?

If you could write yourself as a character in a film or book what would be your most annoying quality?

Following the last question, what would be your most loveable quality?

If you were to pick up that book with that character as the protagonist, would you like that character?

When was the last time you did something spontaneous and what was it?

What was the last book or film you saw or read that left you speechless or in awe for days and why did it?

Have you ever considered writing a book and what would it be called?

Do you have a role model, who?

Have you ever continuously done something out of your com for zone, what was it and how did you feel afterwards?

Looking back at the start of your blog to now, have you changed in anyway, has your writing style changed and how?

 

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “LIEBSTER AWARD

  1. I loved reading your answers! Your questions are also really thought-provoking and I may write my own responses to them sometime because they’ve really got me thinking.

    I totally skipped the random facts part because I kind of threw everything I could think of on my about page when I first created it. 🙂

    Like

Say Something

